Hildegard Commission Concert


6:00 PM

National Sawdust Ensemble premieres commissioned works from the 2021 winners of The Hildegard competition.

Featuring the world premieres of  three commissioned composers, Flannery Cunningham, Jimena Maldonado, and Sonja Mutić, this concert celebrates the composers of the Hildegard Commission; National Sawdust’s inaugural competition to support women, trans, and nonbinary composers in the early stages of their careers.

The three winners of the Hildegard Commission each receive a $7,000 commission, mentorship with leading composers, a professional performance and recording. Out of 130 international submissions, three composers were chosen as winners and five were chosen as finalists. After receiving mentorship from the judges of the Hildegard Commission—Paola Prestini, Composer, Co-Founder and Artistic Director at National Sawdust; composer and vocalist Joan La Barbara; composer and sound artist Gavilán Rayna Russom; and composer and multi-instrumentalist Angélica Negrón—the three winning composers will debut the works  commissioned by National Sawdust for chamber ensemble and electronics performed by the National Sawdust Ensemble.

This performance will also include music from the five finalists: Ananda L. Costa, Amanda Feery, Lauren Siess, Alicia Jane Turner, Tan Yuting. 

The Hildegard Competition is made possible by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.

Venue Details