Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra

Raleigh, NC, USA

Stewart Theatre

4:00 PM


The Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra performs “The Inheritors: Music of Trauma, Healing and Hope,” which includes the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Allison Loggins-Hull. The premiere is part of the NC State/Raleigh Civic Orchestras’ “20 for ’20” season of world premieres, one on each concert. Centered around the concept of the intergenerational transmission of trauma, Loggins-Hull draws on the stories of descendants of victims of slavery and the Holocaust. She writes, “I am focused on creating work that is responsive to the times and particularly drawn to highlighting the experiences of minorities, women, and exploring how American politics affect future generations…I am often consumed with these issues and histories, and as an artist I strongly believe it is my responsibility, especially in consideration of the times we are living in, to create work in this vein.”  The concert explores the ways in which people endure and transcend adversity.

The new commission by Allison Loggins-Hull to be performed by Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra was supported by New Music USA. To follow the project as it unfolds, visit the project page.

Venue Details

Stewart Theatre 2610 Cates Ave
Raleigh, NC 27695