The Cleveland Orchestra

Cleveland, OH, USA

Severance Hall

7:30 PM

Premiere of "Can You See?" arrangement for The Cleveland Orchestra.

About the Music


BARBER  Cello Concerto

PROKOFIEV  Symphony No. 4

Cleveland-born cellist Alisa Weilerstein joins Music Director Franz Welser-Möst to perform Barber’s “lyric and romantic” Cello Concerto, a piece praised for its “Brahms-like grandeur.” Written while Barber was serving in the U.S. military during World War II, the concerto is bookended by the world premiere of Allison Loggins-Hull’s Can You See? and Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 4, a fascinating work that was premiered in Boston before Prokofiev reworked it upon return to the Soviet Union. The Orchestra will perform the first version in this program.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Alisa Weilersteincello

Venue Details

Severance Hall 11001 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44106