Allison Loggins-Hull on Sound Currents

Had a blast chatting with hosts Sascha Groschang and Laurel Parks about my background, work, and inspirations. Take a listen to the full episode here. Musical program includes:

by Allison Loggins-Hull
Jennifer Grim – flute

by Allison Loggins-Hull
Sandbox Percussion and Allison Loggins-Hull, flute

The Pattern
by Allison Loggins-Hull
Ensemble Pi

Co-composed and performed by Flutronix and Third Coast Percussion

by Allison Loggins-Hull

by Allison Loggins-Hull
Willinger Duo

A great review of yMusic’s performance at Zankel Hall on January 19, 2023, which included the premiere of my latest work, “Supply.” Seth Colter Walls writes “The work moves between these emotional poles with smart instrumental writing, including some ferocious yet melodically supple passages…” Read the entire review here.

I am beyond thrilled, humbled, and honored to be The Cleveland Orchestra’s newest Daniel R. Lewis Composer Fellow. I look forward to working with one of the finest orchestras in the world, while familiarizing myself with the people and stories of Cleveland. From the press release:

Lewis Composer Fellow, Commissions, Premieres, Works by Living Composers.
Beginning with the 2022–23 Severance season, composer, flutist, and producer Allison Loggins-Hull will be the eleventh Daniel R. Lewis Composer Fellow. In addition to several Cleveland Orchestra commissions, including an expanded arrangement of her composition Can You See? in the 2022-23 Severance season, Loggins-Hull will work with the Orchestra’s Artistic, Education, and Community Engagement staff, Cleveland Orchestra musicians, and, most importantly, with community partners, to build activities and artistic relationships that reflect and engage the Cleveland community over the course of a three-season-long residency. Loggins-Hull’s work will be centered around the narratives and history of Cleveland, through chamber music performances, composition workshops with students, and in her own compositions for The Cleveland Orchestra.

Read the complete press release here.

Maurice Hines Bring them back
This summer I had the enormous pleasure and honor of composing my first film score for the incredible documentary, “Maurice Hines: 
Bring Them Back.” Directed by John Carluccio, produced by Tracy Hopkins, with Executive Producer Debbie Allen, “Bring Them Back” is an intimate portrait of an overlooked elder son-and-dance man, who with humor and grace battles the challenges of show business and a complex relationship with his superstar brother, Gregory Hines.
A very special thank you goes out to the music team that brought the score to life: Mark Dover on clarinet, Jeffrey Zeigler on cello, Alex Brown on piano, Cindy Blackman Santana on drums and Tony Maimone, audio engineer. Keep your eyes open for showings at a film festival near you!

Composers Now announces IMPACT. Each installment in this series offers a composer the opportunity to reflect on one’s creativity, influences, pathways, and responsibility as a living artist in our ever-changing world. Designed for the virtual space, every session shares a composer’s essential thoughts directly with you, the audience, in the safety and comfort of your own place. These commentaries, interwoven with performance videos and other materials, articulate a creator’s IMPACT.